BRUSSELS, 16 December 2020 – 4evergreen, the alliance that aims to perfect the circularity of fibre-based packaging, has announced its Steering Group’s new composition.


Eleven leading figures from the fibre-based packaging value chain have been elected to the Steering Group of 4evergreen, where they will represent the views of the 55 members of the alliance. The Steering Group sets the strategy and operational priorities of the industry alliance. It approves and supervises the work of the five workstreams. The highest decision-making body of 4evergreen also gives operational direction to the work of the secretariat led by its Programme Director, Susanne Haase.

“Our new Steering Group reflects the fresh momentum within 4evergreen. With 55 members, our fair and effective governance will accelerate our progress towards our goal of raising the recycling rate of fibre-based packaging to 90%”, declared Eija Hietavuo, 4evergreen chairwoman. “The membership of the Steering Group represents all the business segments of our unique 360° alliance. I am delighted to work with such a distinguished group of circularity thought leaders.”

The 11 members of 4evergreen’s Steering Group are:

Horst Bittermann
Head of Marketing, Enduser and Retailer Sales, Mayr-Melnhof Karton GmbH

Jürgen Dornheim
Director, Corporate Packaging Innovation & Sustainability, Procter & Gamble Company

Andreas Helbig
Managing Director, Seda Germany GmbH

Lars Henriksson
Vice-President for Product Development, Paper Division, Smurfit Kappa Group plc

Riikka Joukio
Senior Vice President, Climate & Circular Economy, Metsä Group

Emilia Moisio
Director, New Fibre Businesses, Technology, UPM

Niklas Petersson
Business Area Manager, Media Production, IKEA

Sarah Price
Sustainability Manager, Sappi Europe

Francesca Priora
Director, Global Collection Programmes, Tetra Pak

Mike Turner
AR Packaging

Alexey Vishtal
Senior Fibre-based Packaging Specialist, Nestlé S.A.

As Cepi’s Environment and Safety Committee Chairwoman, Eija Hietavuo, Stora Enso SVP Sustainability, also chairs the meetings of the Steering Group of 4evergreen. She is seconded by Deputy chairman Hans Wortman, Head of PfR sourcing at WEPA, who also chairs the Recycling Committee of Cepi.

“I am delighted to join the leadership of an innovative industry alliance such as 4evergreen”, said Deputy Chair Hans Wortman, insisting that “together we will address some of the toughest circularity challenges of the fibre-based packaging. Among them, the way we consume, collect and sort it is central. The quality and value of Paper for Recycling hinges on our ability to improve our consumption, collection and sorting practices.”

4evergreen’s newly elected Steering Group was scheduled to have their first meeting on 26 January 2021.